2011 Featured Image

Hosts David Hyde Pierce, S. Epatha Merkerson presented the 56th Annual Obies Award at Webster Hall on Monday, May 16, 2011.


Obie Grant

  • Wakka Wakka

Special Citations

  • Young Jean Lee

    We're Gonna Die!

  • Stephen Dobbie

    Sleep No More

  • Maxine Doyle

    Sleep No More

  • Livi Vaughan

    Sleep No More

  • Leah C. Gardiner

    Born Bad

  • Felix Barrett

    Sleep No More

  • Euan Maybank

    Sleep No More

  • Debbie Tucker Green

    Born Bad

  • David Israel Reynoso

    Sleep No More

  • Beatrice Minns

    Sleep No More


  • Thomas Sadoski

    Other Desert Cities

  • Scott Shepherd


  • Michael Chernus

    In The Wake

  • Laurie Metcalf

    The Other Place

  • Hamish Linklater

    School for Lies

  • Ethan Hawke

    Blood from a Stone

  • Charlayne Woodard

    The Witch of Edmonton

  • Brenda Wehle

    The Intelligent Homosexual's Guide

  • Andre Braugher

    The Whipping Man

Best New American Play

  • Kristoffer Diaz

    The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity


  • Samuel D. Hunter

    A Bright New Boise

  • Jonas Hassen Khemiri



  • Roger Rees

    Peter and the Starcatcher

  • Alex Timbers

    Peter and the Starcatcher

  • Austin Pendleton

    The Three Sisters

  • Leigh Silverman

    In the Wake, Go Back to Where You Are

Lifetime Achievement

  • Rene Buch

    Repertorio Espanol

Sustained Excellence of Performance

  • F. Murray Abraham

Sustained Excellence of Set Design

  • Donyale Werle

Ross Wetzsteon Award

  • Belarus Free Theatre

Obie Committee

  • Michael Feingold, Hilton Als, David Henry Hwang, Evan Yionoulis, Andy Propst, Alexis Soloski

Hosts & Presenters


David Hyde Pierce

Photo of David Hyde Pierce


S. Epatha Merkerson

Photo of S. Epatha Merkerson