1950s Featured Image

The Obie Awards were created in 1955 at the suggestion of then editor Jerry Tallmer. The award served to encourage the newly burgeoning Off Broadway theater movement and to acknowledge its achievements. The Threepenny Opera, Uncle Vanya, George C. Scott, and Hal Holbrook were among the winners of the first Obies decade.


Special Citations

  • Phoenix Theatre

  • Shakespearean Workshop Theatre

  • Tempo Playhouse

Distinguished Performances (Actresses)

  • Shirlee Emmons

    The Mother of Us All

  • Frances Sternhagen

    The Admirable Bashville

  • Nancy Wickwire

    The Cherry Orchard

Distinguished Performances (Actors)

  • Alan Ansara

    The Private Life of the Master Race

  • Roberts Blossom

    A Village Wooing

  • Addison Powell

    The Iceman Cometh

Best Supporting Actress

  • Peggy McCay

    Uncle Vanya

Best Supporting Actor

  • Gerald Hiken

    "The Cherry Orchard," "Uncle Vanya"

Best New Play

  • Lionel Abel

    Absalom, Absalom

Best Musical

  • The Threepenny Opera

Best Director

  • Jose Quintero

    The Iceman Cometh

Best All-Around Production

  • Uncle Vanya

Best Actress

  • Julie Bovasso

    The Maids

Best Actor

  • Jason Robards, Jr

    The Iceman Cometh

  • George Voskovec

    Uncle Vanya

  • Klaus Holm and Alvin Colt

    Phoenix Theatre

Hosts & Presenters


Shelley Winters