1990s Featured Image

Alec Baldwin, Stockard Channing, Nathan Lane, Felicity Huffman, and Lea DeLaria were just a few performers who received the Obie Award in the 1990s.

The 1990s awarded several plays and musicals that would go on to world wide audiences including Prelude to a Kiss, Six Degrees of Separation, Hedwig and the Angry Inch and Rent.


Best New American Play

  • Craig Lucas

    Prelude to a Kiss

  • Suzan-Lori Parks

    Imperceptible Mutabilities in the Third Kingdom

  • Mac Wellman

    Bad Penny, Crowbar, and Terminal Hip

Sustained Excellence of Sound Design

  • Daniel Moses Schreler

Sustained Excellence of Set Design

  • George Tsypin


  • Liz Diamond

    Imperceptible Mutabilities in the Third Kingdom

  • Norman Rene

    Prelude to a Kiss

  • Jim Simpson

    Bad Penny

  • George C. Wolfe


Obie Grant

  • Dixon Place

  • Pregones

  • WOW Cafe

  • BACA New Works Project

  • 52nd Street Project


  • Alec Baldwin

    Prelude to a Kiss

  • Elzbieta Czyzewska


  • Karen Evans-Kandel


  • Marcia Jean Kurtz

    The Loman Family Picnic and When She Danced

  • Ruth Maleczech


  • Greg Mehrten


  • Stephen Mellor

    Terminal Hip

  • Isabell Monk


  • Jean Stapleton

    Mountain Language and The Birthday Party

  • Pamela Tyson

    Imperceptible Mutabilities in the Third Kingdom

  • Courtney B. Vance

    My Children! My Africa!

  • Danitra Vance


  • Lillias White

    Romance in Hard Times

Sustained Excellence in Performance

  • Mary Shultz

Special Citations

  • Eric Bogosian

    Sex, Drugs, Rock & Roll

  • Dan Hurlin

    A Cool Million

  • Joseph Papp

  • San Francisco Mime Troupe

    Seeing Double

Sustained Achievement

  • Money awarded to ACT-UP for the fight against AIDS

Obie Committee

  • Michael Feingold

  • Erika Munk

  • Alisa Solomon

  • Ross Wetzsteon

  • Rene Buch

  • Margo Jefferson