2020s Featured Image

The 66th Obie Awards were hosted by Crystal Lucas-Perry at Terminal 5 in NYC.


Best New American Play

  • Sanaz Toossi

    English (Atlantic Theater Company)


  • Martyna Majok

    Sanctuary City (New York Theatre Workshop – NYTW)


  • Taylor Reynolds

    Man Cave (Page 73) and Tambo & Bones (Playwrights Horizons) 

  • Awoye Timpo

    Wedding Band (TFNA) and her work as founder of Classix 

Music Direction and Composition

  • Matt Ray

    The Hang (HERE) 

Sustained Achievement in Directing

  • Saheem Ali

    Nollywood Dreams (MCC); Merry Wives (The Public); Romeo y Julieta (The Public); and Fat Ham (The Public | National Black Theater - NBT) 

  • David Brimmer


  • Stephanie Berry

    On Sugarland (NYTW) 

  • Lizan Mitchell

    On Sugarland (NYTW) 

  • Brittany Bradford

    Wedding Band (Theatre For a New Audience) 

  • Kara Young

    Twelfth Night (Classical Theatre of Harlem) 

  • Arturo Luís Soria

    Ni Mi Madre (Rattlestick) 

Sustained Achievement in Performance

  • Billy Eugene Jones

    On Sugarland (NYTW) and Fat Ham (The Public) 

  • Andrea Patterson

    Cullud Wattah (Public Theater); Confederates (Signature); and Seize the King (The Classical Theatre of Harlem) 


  • Reza Behjat

    English (Atlantic Theater Company) and Wish You Were Here (Playwrights Horizons) 

Sustained Achievement in Lighting Design

  • Jeanette Oi-Suk Yew

    Cullud Wattah (The Public), Oratorio for Living Things (Ars Nova), The Nosebleed (Lincoln Center Theater), Golden Shield (MTC), Snow in Midsummer (CSC), Fairycakes (Greenwich House), and What You Are Now (EST) 

Sustained Achievement in Hair and Wig Design

  • Nikiya Mathis

    Nollywood Dreams (MTC) 

Sustained Achievement in Set and Costume Design

  • Machine Dazzle

Special Citation

  • Heather Christian (Composer, Vocal Arrangements, Orchestration); Ben Moss (Music Director, Orchestration); Nick Kourtides (Sound Design); and the musical team of Oratorio For Living Things (Ars Nova) 

    Oratorio For Living Things (Ars Nova) 

  • Creative Team and Ensemble of Fat Ham (The Public) James Ijames (Playwright), Saheem Ali (Director); Maruti Evans (Set Design); Dominique Fawn Hill (Costume Design); Stacey Derosier (Lighting Designer); Mikaal Sulaiman (Sound Design); Darrell Grand Moultrie (Choreographer); Earon Chew Nealey (Hair and Wig Design); Skylar Fox (Illusions Design); Nikki Crawford, Chris Herbie Holland, Billy Eugene Jones, Adrianna Mitchell, Calvin Leon Smith, Marcel Spears, and Benja Kay Thomas (ensemble) 

    Fat Ham (The Public)

  • Creative Team and Ensemble of English (The Atlantic Theater) Knud Adams (Directing), Marsha Ginsberg (Set Design), Enver Chakartash (Costume Design), Reza Behjat (Lighting Design), Sinan Refik Zafar (Sound Design) Tala Ashe, Ava Lalezarzadeh, Pooya Mohseni, Marjan Neshat, and Hadi Tabbal (Ensemble) 

    English (The Atlantic Theater)

  • Aya Ogawa

    for the Creation, Writing, and Direction of The Nosebleed (Lincoln Center Theater | Japan Society) 

  • Qween Jean

    On Sugarland, Black No More, Wedding Band, Corsicana, Soft, What to Send Up When It Goes Down

  • Digital+Virtual+Hybrid Production: Michael Breslin, Patrick Foley, Ariel Sibert, Cat Rodríguez and Rory Pelsue (Creators, Writers, Director) in collaboration with David Bengali (Video Designer) Circle Jerk (Fake Friends and Jeremy O. Harris) 

    Circle Jerk (Fake Friends and Jeremy O. Harris) 

  • Laurie Woolery

    for Directing in the adaptation of As You Like It (The Public) 

  • Shaina Taub

    for Music and Lyrics in the adaptation of As You Like It (The Public) 

  • Alex Edelman

    Just For Us (Mike Birbiglia | Greenwich House Theater) 

  • Modesto Flako Jimenez

    Taxilandia (Oye Group | NYTW | Bushwick Starr | The Tank) 

  • Digital+Virtual+Hybrid Production: Sarah Gancher (Writer), Jared Mezzocchi and Elizabeth Williamson (Directors) Russian Troll Farm (The Civilians, Theater Works Hartford, and TheatreSquared) 

    Russian Troll Farm (The Civilians, Theater Works Hartford, and TheatreSquared) 

  • Richard Nelson

    for the completion and producing of The Rhinebeck Panorama 

Lifetime Achievement

  • Ping Chong

  • Anne Bogart

  • Ralph Lee and Casey Compton and Mettawee River Theater Company

Obie Grant

  • The Sol Project

  • Theatre in Quarantine

  • See Lighting Foundation

  • Anticapitalism for Artists

Ross Wetzsteon Award

  • The Classical Theatre of Harlem

Michael Feingold Award

  • Maestra Music

Hosts & Presenters


Crystal Lucas-Perry

Photo of Crystal Lucas-Perry


Emilio Sosa


J. Allen Suddeth


Heather Hitchens


Melissa Rose Bernardo


David Mendizábal


Rachel Chavkin