2000s Featured Image

The 00s brought the Obies to Webster Hall and the then new Skirball Center. The Obies featured hosts like Cynthia Nixon, Raul Esparza, Bill Irwin, and Marian Seldes and celebrated shows such as Caroline or Change and Doubt.


Ross Wetzsteon Award

  • Susan Feldman

    Artistic director, St. Ann's Warehouse

Lifetime Achievement

  • Mark Russell

Obie Grant

  • The Civilians

  • THAW (Theaters Against War)

  • Musicals Tonight


  • Lauren Helpern (sets), Tyler Micoleau (lights), Brian Ronan (sound), Kim Gill (costumes), Faye Armon (props)

    The design team of Bug

  • Derek McLane, sets

    I Am My Own Wife

  • Derek McLane, sets

    Aunt Dan and Lemon

  • Derek McLane, sets

    Intimate Apparel

Best New American Play

  • Craig Lucas

    Small Tragedy


  • Robert Een

    Hiroshima Maiden


  • Moises Kaufman

    I Am My Own Wife

  • Lee Breuer

    Mabou Mines dollHouse


  • Zilah Mendozat

    Living Ou

  • Viola Davis

    Intimate Apparel

  • Tonya Pinkins

    Caroline, or Change

  • Ana Reeder, Mary Shultz, Rob Campbell, Daniel Eric Gold, Lee Pace, Rosemarie DeWitt

    The acting company of Small Tragedy

  • Shannon Cochran, Michael Shannon, Michael Cullen, Amy Landecker, Reed Birney

    The acting company of Bug

  • Sarah Jones

    Bridge & Tunnel

  • Maude Mitchell

    Mabou Mines dollHouse

  • Lisa Emery


  • Lili Taylor

    Aunt Dan and Lemon

  • Jefferson Mays

    I Am My Own Wife

  • Jayne Houdyshell


  • Brian F. O'Byrne


Special Citations

  • Tony Kushner

    Caroline, or Change

  • The Builders Association and motiroti Alladeen

  • Terry Nemeth

    Play Publishing, TCG

  • Soho Rep

    Molly's Dream

  • Pieter-Dirk Uys

    Foreign AIDS

  • Martin Moran

    The Tricky Part

  • Kyle Jarrow

    A Very Merry Unauthorized Children's Scientology Pageant

  • Jeanine Tesori

    Caroline, or Change

  • George C. Wolfe

    For his stewardship of the Public Theater

  • Alex Timbers

    A Very Merry Unauthorized Children's Scientology Pageant

Obie Committee

  • Charles McNulty, Alisa Solomon, Loy Arcenas, Tony Kushner, Diedre Murray, David Savran, James Urbaniak, Evan Yionoulis, Alexis Soloski

Hosts & Presenters


Swoosie Kurtz

Photo of Swoosie Kurtz


Raul Esparza

Photo of Raul Esparza


Viola Davis

Photo of Viola Davis


Idina Menzel

Photo of Idina Menzel


Taye Diggs

Photo of Taye Diggs


Denis O'Hare

Photo of Denis O'Hare