2000s Featured Image

The 00s brought the Obies to Webster Hall and the then new Skirball Center. The Obies featured hosts like Cynthia Nixon, Raul Esparza, Bill Irwin, and Marian Seldes and celebrated shows such as Caroline or Change and Doubt.


Ross Wetzsteon Award

  • Rattlestick Theatre

Lifetime Achievement

  • Alvin Epstein

Obie Grant

  • Young Jean Lee, Emerging Playwright Grants

  • Transport Group

  • The Play Company

  • Synapse Productions

  • Peculiar Works Project

Special Citations

  • Tim Crouch

    An Oak Tree

  • The Living Theatre, ensemble and director Judith Malina (Ensemble: Johnson Anthony, Gene Ardor, Kesh Baggan, Steven Scot Bono, Gary Brackett, Brent Bradley, Brad Burgess, John Kohan, Albert Lamont, Peter Lester, Jeff Nash, Josh Roberts, Bradford Rosenbloom, Jade Rothman, Isaac Scranton, Morteza Tavakoli, Evan True, Antwan Ward, Louis Williams; Steve Ben Israel, ensemble director)

    The Brig

  • Edward Hall & Propeller

    Taming of the Shrew

  • Daniel Beaty

    writing and performance Emergence-SEE


  • Roslyn Ruff

    Seven Guitars

  • Ron Cephas Jones

    Sustained Excellence of Performance

  • Nina Hellman

    Trouble in Paradise

  • Nilaja Sun

    No Child

  • Nancy Opel

    My Deah

  • Michael Stuhlbarg

    The Voysey Inheritance

  • James Saito


  • Harris Yulin

    Frank's Home

  • Ensemble (Winsome Brown, Michael Ray Escamilla, Tracey A. Leigh, Leo Marks, Diane Rodriguez, Ed Vassallo, Heather Woodbury)

    Tale of 2Cities

  • Donna Lynne Champlin

    The Dark at the Top of the Stairs

  • David Greenspan

    Faust and Some Men

  • Betsy Aidem

    Sustained Excellence of Performance

  • Andre De Shields

    Sustained Excellence of Performance

  • Ain Gordon

    Stories Left to Tell


  • Michael Friedman

    Sustained Excellence in Music

  • Lin-Manuel Miranda, music and lyrics

    In the Heights

  • Bill T. Jones, choreography

    Spring Awakening


  • Adam Bock

    The Thugs


  • Robert Kaplowitz

    Sustained Excellence in Sound Design

  • Rae Smith, sets and costumes

    Oliver Twist

  • Beowulf Boritt

    Sustained Excellence in Set Design


  • Matthew Maguire


  • Lou Bellamy

    Two Trains Running

  • Eirik Stubo

    The Wild Duck

  • Chay Yew


  • Anne Kauffman

Obie Committe

  • Michael Feingold, Kirsten Childs, Jeremy McCarter, Anne Dennin, Alexis Soloski, Ain Gordon, Adam Rapp

Hosts & Presenters


Cynthia Nixon

Photo of Cynthia Nixon


T.R. Knight

Photo of T.R. Knight


Michael Cerveris

Photo of Michael Cerveris


Angela Lansbury

Photo of Angela Lansbury


William Ivey Long

Photo of William Ivey Long


Camryn Manheim

Photo of Camryn Manheim


Stephanie March

Photo of Stephanie March


Terrence McNally

Photo of Terrence McNally


Liev Schreiber

Photo of Liev Schreiber


Anika Noni Rose

Photo of Anika Noni Rose