2000s Featured Image

The 00s brought the Obies to Webster Hall and the then new Skirball Center. The Obies featured hosts like Cynthia Nixon, Raul Esparza, Bill Irwin, and Marian Seldes and celebrated shows such as Caroline or Change and Doubt.


Ross Wetzsteon Award

  • Soho Repertory Theater

Emerging Theater Grants

  • Rinne Groff

  • Red Bull Theater

  • Neena Beber

  • Edge Theater Company

  • Billie Holiday Theatre

Lifetime Achievement

  • Eric Bentley


  • Sherie Rene Scott

    Landscape of the Body

  • Scott Shepherd

    Poor Theater: A Series of Simulacra

  • S. Epatha Merkerson

    Birdie Blue

  • Reed Birney

    Sustained Excellence

  • Peter Francis James

    Stuff Happens

  • Michael Cumpsty


  • Meg MacCary

    What Then

  • Marin Ireland


  • Lois Smith

    The Trip to Bountiful

  • Julie White

    The Little Dog Laughed

  • Euan Morton

    Measure for Pleasure

  • Edwin Lee Gibson

    The Seven

  • Gary Wilmes

    Red Light Winter

  • Dana Ivey

    Mrs. Warren's Profession

  • Christine Ebersole

    Grey Gardens

  • Byron Jennings

    Stuff Happens

  • Ari Fliakos

    Poor Theater: A Series of Simulacra


  • Rolin Jones

    Intelligent Design of Jenny Chow

  • Martin McDonagh

    The Lieutenant Of Inishmore



    Abacus Black Strikes Now

  • Anita Yavich

    Sustained Excellence of Costume Design

  • Allen Moyer

    Sustained Excellence of Set Design


  • John Clancy

    Sustained Excellence

  • Daniel Sullivan

    Stuff Happens

Special Citations

  • Robert O'Hara

    In the Continuum

  • Ricky Ian Gordon

    Orpheus and Euridyce

  • Nikkole Salter

    In the Continuum

  • Michael Berresse

    [title of show]

  • Jon Nakagawa

    Orpheus and Euridyce

  • Jeff Bowen

    [title of show]

  • Jane Moss

    Orpheus and Euridyce

  • Hunter Bell

    [title of show]

  • Doug Varone

    Orpheus and Euridyce

  • Danai Gurira

    In the Continuum

  • Adam Rapp

    Red Light Winter

Obie Committee

  • Michael Feingold, Jorge Morales, Alexis Soloski, David Herskovits, Eduardo Machado, Lynn Nottage, Deidre O'Connell, Marc Robinson, Elizabeth Lawler

Hosts & Presenters


Eric Bogosian

Photo of Eric Bogosian


Lili Taylor

Photo of Lili Taylor


Christine Lahti

Photo of Christine Lahti


Christine Ebersole

Photo of Christine Ebersole


Edward Hibbert

Photo of Edward Hibbert


Douglas Carter Beane

Photo of Douglas Carter Beane


Phylicia Rashad

Photo of Phylicia Rashad


Oskar Eustis

Photo of Oskar Eustis