1990s Featured Image

Alec Baldwin, Stockard Channing, Nathan Lane, Felicity Huffman, and Lea DeLaria were just a few performers who received the Obie Award in the 1990s.

The 1990s awarded several plays and musicals that would go on to world wide audiences including Prelude to a Kiss, Six Degrees of Separation, Hedwig and the Angry Inch and Rent.


Best New American Play

  • Adrienne Kennedy

  • June And Jean In Concert

  • Sleep Deprivation Chamber, Sleep Deprivation Chamber

Sustained Excellence of Lighting Design

  • Jeffrey S. Koger

Sustained Excellence of Set Design

  • Neil Patel


  • Doug Hughes

    The Grey Zone


  • Bruce Coughlin and Adam Guettel

    Floyd Collins

  • Polly Pen

    Bed And Sofa

Sustained Excellence of Music

  • David Van Tieghem

Obie Committee

  • Michael Feingold

  • Alisa Solomon

  • Holly Hill

  • Karen Kandel

  • Alberto Minero

  • Jim O'Quinn

  • Charles McNulty

  • Ross Wetzsteon

Obie Grant

  • New Georges

  • The TEBA Group


  • Gerry Bamman

    Nixon's Nixon

  • Lisa Gay Hamilton

    Valley Song

  • Terri Klausner

    Bed And Sofa

  • Tom McGowan

    The Food Chain

  • Mark Nelson

    Picasso At The Lapin Agile

  • Adina Porter


  • Virginia Rambal

    Troya De America and La Dama Duende

  • Rose The Dog (Julie Archer and Barbara Pollitt)


  • Rocco Sisto


  • Steven Skybell

    Antigone In New York

  • Derek Smith

    The Green Bird

  • James Urbaniak

    The Universe

  • Mary Louise Wilson

    Full Gallop


  • Ain Gordon

    Wally's Ghost

  • Donald Margulies

    The Model Apartment

  • Suzan-Lori Parks


  • Doug Wright


Special Citation: Sustained Excellence of Direction

  • Ingmar Bergman

Special Citation: Sustained Excellence of Performance

  • Kathleen Chalfant

  • Henry Stram

Special Citations

  • Scott Elliott and The Acting Ensemble


  • Marty Pottenger

    City Water Tunnel #3

  • The Acting Ensemble


  • New Voices at Repertorio Espanol

Special Citation: Choreography and Dance

  • Savion Glover

    Bring in 'da Noise/Bring in 'da Funk

Special Citation: Composer/Writer

  • Jonathan Larson


Special Citation: Director

  • Michael Greif


Sustained Achievement

  • Uta Hagen

Hosts & Presenters


Nicky Silver