1990s Featured Image

Alec Baldwin, Stockard Channing, Nathan Lane, Felicity Huffman, and Lea DeLaria were just a few performers who received the Obie Award in the 1990s.

The 1990s awarded several plays and musicals that would go on to world wide audiences including Prelude to a Kiss, Six Degrees of Separation, Hedwig and the Angry Inch and Rent.


Best New American Play

  • Wallace Shawn

    The Fever

Sustained Excellence of Lighting Design

  • Frances Aronso

Sustained Excellence of Set Design

  • Mark Beard

Sustained Excellence of Costume Design

  • William Ivey Long

Sound design

  • John Gromada



  • Michael Grief


  • Lisa Peterson

    Light Shining in Buckinghamshire

Obie Committee

  • Ross Wetzsteon


  • Michael Feingold

  • Gordon Rogoff

  • Robert Massa

  • Alisa Solomon

  • Joan Macintosh

  • Margo Jefferson

Obie Grant

  • En Garde Arts

  • Hearts and Voices

  • Mettawee River Theater Company


  • Eileen Atkins

    A Room of One's Own

  • Stockard Channing

    Six Degrees of Separation

  • Joan Copeland

    The American Plan

  • Angela Goethals

    The Good Times are Killing Me

  • Tony Goldwyn

    The Sum of Us

  • Jan Leslie Harding

    Sincerity Forever

  • John Leguizamo

    Mambo Mouth

  • Michael Lombard

    What's Wrong With This Picture?

  • Jodie Markell


  • Anne Pitonia


  • Ron Rifkin

    The Substance of Fire

  • Kathleen Widdoes

    Tower of Evil

Ensemble Performance

  • Bette Bourne

  • Precious Pearl

  • Peggy Shaw

  • Lois Weaver

  • Belle Reprieve


  • John Guare

    Six Degrees of Separation

  • Mac Wellman

    Sincerity Forever

Special Citations

  • Blue Man Group

  • John Kelly

    Love of a Poet

  • BACA Downtown

  • New York Theatre Workshop

  • New York Shakespeare Festival

    1990-91 Season

  • Lori Seid

  • Theater for the New City, Stop the War: A Festival for Peace in the Middle East

Sustained Achievement

  • The Wooster Group

Hosts & Presenters


Stockard Channing


Alan Arkin