1990s Featured Image

Alec Baldwin, Stockard Channing, Nathan Lane, Felicity Huffman, and Lea DeLaria were just a few performers who received the Obie Award in the 1990s.

The 1990s awarded several plays and musicals that would go on to world wide audiences including Prelude to a Kiss, Six Degrees of Separation, Hedwig and the Angry Inch and Rent.


Best Play

  • Anna Deavere Smith

    Twilight: Los Angeles 1992

Sustained Excellence of Set Design

  • Kyle Chepulis

Sustained Excellence of Lighting Design

  • Brian MacDevitt


  • Andre Ernotte

    Christina Alberta's Father

  • David Warren


Obie Committee

  • Ross Wetzsteon


  • Michael Feingold

  • Alisa Solomon

  • Anne Bogart

  • Jan Stuart

  • Ming Cho Lee

Obie Grant

  • Changing Scenes

  • Here


  • Carolee Carmello

    Hello Again

  • Myra Carter

    Three Tall Women

  • Gail Grate

    The America Play

  • Danny Hoch

    Some People

  • Judith Ivey

    The Moonshot Tape

  • Peter Francis James

    The Maid

  • Jefferson Mays


  • Christopher McCann

    The Lights

  • Tom Nelis

    The Medium

  • Alice Playten

    First Lady Suite

  • Michael Potts

    The America Play

  • Robert Stanton

    All in the Timing


  • Eric Bogosian

    Pounding Nails in the Floor With My Forehead

  • Howard Korder

    The Lights

Special Citations

  • Ain Gordon, David Gordon and Valda Setterfield

    The Family Business

  • Holly Hughes

  • Ricky Jay

    Ricky Jay and His 52 Assistants

  • Michael John LaChiusa

    First Lady Suite and Hello Again

  • John Moran and Bob McGrath

  • Tom Noonan


  • Claudia Shear

    Blown Sideways Through Life


Sustained Achievement

  • Edward Albee

Hosts & Presenters


Mary McDonnell


James McDaniel