1990s Featured Image

Alec Baldwin, Stockard Channing, Nathan Lane, Felicity Huffman, and Lea DeLaria were just a few performers who received the Obie Award in the 1990s.

The 1990s awarded several plays and musicals that would go on to world wide audiences including Prelude to a Kiss, Six Degrees of Separation, Hedwig and the Angry Inch and Rent.


Best Play

  • Richard Foreman

    Pearls For Pigs and Benita Canova


  • Darron L. West


  • Mimi Jordan Sherin



  • Ivo van Hove

    More Stately Mansions

  • David Esbjornson, Therese Raquin

    Therese Raquin

  • Evan Yionoulis

    Three Days of Rain

Sustained Excellence of Direction

  • Jo Bonney

Obie Committee

  • Suzan-Lori Parks

  • Marian Seldes

  • Polly Pen

  • Steven Samuels

  • James Hannaham

  • Michael Feingold

Obie Grant

  • Victoria McElwaine

    Housing Works Theater Project

  • Caught in the Act annual one-act festival presented by Threshold Theater Co.


  • Lea DeLaria

    On The Town

  • Mary Testa

    On the Town and From Above

  • Tim Hopper

    More Stately Mansions

  • Joseph Wiseman

    I Can't Remember Anything

  • Heather Gillespie

    Mamba's Daughters

  • Marie Mullen

    The Beauty Queen of Leenane

  • Matthew Maguire

    I Don't Know Who He Was And I Don't Know What He Said

  • Yvette Freeman

    Dinah Was

  • Adriane Lenox

    Dinah Was

  • Elizabeth Marvel

    Therese Raquin and Misalliance

  • J. Smith Cameron

    As Bees In Honey Drown

  • Joan MacIntosh

    More Stately Mansions

Sustained Excellence of Performance

  • David Patrick Kelly

  • Kate Valk

  • Brian Murray

Ross Wetzsteon Award

  • Doug Aibel and The Vineyard Theater

    For Sustained Support of artists and Creativity in the Theater

Special Citations

  • Target Margin Theater

    Mamba's Daughters

  • David Herskovits, Thomas Cabaniss, Lenore Doxsee, Erika Belsey, David Zinn, Tim Schellenbaum, John Cameron Mitchell

    Hedwig And The Angry Inch

  • Stephen Trask

    Hedwig And The Angry Inch

  • Karen Finley

    The American Chestnut

  • Philim McDermott, Lee Simpson, Julian Crouch, Guy Dartnell, Ben Park, Steve Tiplady,

    For the Creators of 70 Hill Lane

Special Citations: Sustained Excellence of Sound Design

  • Mark Bennett

Special Citation: Sustained Excellence of Musical Direction

  • Alan Johnson

Special Citation: Distinguished Stage Management

  • Buzz Cohen

Sustained Achievement

  • Jennifer Tipton

Hosts & Presenters


Eric Bogosian

Photo of Eric Bogosian


Kristen Johnson

Photo of Kristen Johnson


Danny Hoch

Photo of Danny Hoch


Woodie King Jr.

Photo of Woodie King Jr.


Mac Wellman

Photo of Mac Wellman


Mary Louise Wilson

Photo of Mary Louise Wilson


Lea DeLaria

Photo of Lea DeLaria


Ellie Covan

Photo of Ellie Covan


Tsai Chin

Photo of Tsai Chin


Greg Germann

Photo of Greg Germann


Liz Diamond

Photo of Liz Diamond