1990s Featured Image

Alec Baldwin, Stockard Channing, Nathan Lane, Felicity Huffman, and Lea DeLaria were just a few performers who received the Obie Award in the 1990s.

The 1990s awarded several plays and musicals that would go on to world wide audiences including Prelude to a Kiss, Six Degrees of Separation, Hedwig and the Angry Inch and Rent.


Best New American Play

  • Donald Margulies

    Sight Unseen

  • Robbie McCauley

    Sally's Rape

  • Paula Vogel

    The Baltimore Waltz

Sustained Excellence of Set Design

  • John Arnone

Sets and Costumes

  • Marina Draghici

    Mad Forest


  • Anne Bogart

    The Baltimore Waltz

  • Mark Wing-Davy

    Mad Forest

Obie Committee

  • Ross Wetzsteon


  • Michael Feingold

  • C. Carr

  • Alisa Solomon

  • Max Ferra

  • Linda Winer

Obie Grant

  • Downtown Art Company

  • Franklin Furnace

  • Soho Repertory Company


  • Dennis Boutsikaris

    Sight Unseen

  • Laura Esterman

    Marvin's Room

  • Deborah Hedwall

    Sight Unseen

  • Cherry Jones

    The Baltimore Waltz

  • James McDaniel

    Before It Hits Home

  • S. Epatha Merkerson

    I'm Not Stupid

  • Roger Rees

    The End of the Day

  • Lynne Thigpen

    Boesman and Lena

Sustained Excellence of Performance

  • Larry Bryggman

  • Randy Danson

  • Ofelia Gonzales

  • Nathan Lane

Sustained Excellence in Playwriting

  • Neal Bell

  • Romulus Linney

Special Citations

  • Gerard Alessandrini

    Forbidden Broadway

  • The New York International Festival of the Arts

    For presenting the works of Ingmar Bergman, Tadeusz Kantor, and Eimuntas Nekrosius

  • The Public Theater

    `Tis Pity She's a Whore; For the conception and design

  • David Gordon

    The Mysteries and What's So Funny

  • Anna Deavere Smith

    Fires in the Mirror

  • Ron Vawter

    Roy Cohn/Jack Smith

  • Jeff Weiss

    Hot Keys

Sustained Achievement

  • Athol Fugard

Hosts & Presenters


Kate Nelligan


Jerry Zaks